What’s Your Story?

This weeks reflection at work was based around the idea of story.  The uniqueness of all our stories and reminding ourselves about the story of Christ working in our own individual lives.

Earlier in the week I’d been at a school, where they were essentially debating christianity, religion, etc.  At times it got heated, and there were loads of big words used that I didn’t understand.  It got towards the end of the group’s time and someone asked me about my story, unfortunately the bell went so I promised I would tell them next week.

It reminded me that beyond the intellectual conversations that we can sometimes have, the apologetics route that we as christians can fall into, I have a story.

My story is like another paragraph, page or even chapter in a book of stories that has been written for thousands of years, and like those before me it’s my responsibility to make sure the next generation has the opportunity to write their part of the story and see how it weaves into HIStory.

Psalm 78 says this…

 

My people, hear my teaching;
listen to the words of my mouth.

I will open my mouth with a parable;
I will utter hidden things, things from of old—

things we have heard and known,
things our ancestors have told us.

We will not hide them from their descendants;
we will tell the next generation
the praiseworthy deeds of the Lord,
his power, and the wonders he has done.

He decreed statutes for Jacob
and established the law in Israel,
which he commanded our ancestors
to teach their children,

so the next generation would know them,
even the children yet to be born,
and they in turn would tell their children.

Then they would put their trust in God
and would not forget his deeds
but would keep his commands.

So what is your story, how and what will you tell the rising generation of our God?

Leave a comment