Looking Up

I realised recently how often I don’t look up.

We had a mini break in a friends caravan and we had some great weather including one really clear night. Hannah and I sat outside on the step just looking up and taking it in, the more we looked the more and more stars filled our gaze.

I couldn’t honestly tell you the last time I did that, just looked up for no other reason other than to marvel at the God at work before my eyes.  There is something deep and profound that happens in me when everything is stripped away.  It’s more than just an appreciation of the simple things I believe it was God trying to get my attention.  I was reminded of these verses from Matthew 6:25-33

25 “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? 27 Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?

28 “And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing,29 yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. 30 And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

31 “So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ 32 These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. 33 Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.

I felt God saying..

“look at the stars, look at what I have created, I literally flung stars into space so that you can have this view, so you can enjoy this moment with me, don’t worry about what’s coming next or what you think you need for it, seek me.”

Honestly there have been times when Hannah and I had wondered where the next food was coming from, and here we are about to enter into another exciting part of our journey with certain needs needing to be met but we trust, we seek and we are trying not to worry.

We can look down, we can look at our circumstances but we choose to look up, we choose to lift our heads and walk in the truth of those verse from Matthew.  We choose to live in love, in the knowledge that we are his children and we can boast about how much he loves us.

 

Leave a comment