Looking Up

This last week I’ve felt a lot like a recluse, sure I’ve been out the house but the thought of engaging with anyone other than my immediate family hasn’t frightened me… it just hasn’t had an appeal.

We were on the bus  yesterday and  I looked out the window.  Though cold it had been a fairly sunny day and the sun was breaking though the cloud.  For the first time in about a week I looked up.  I realised that I’ve been spending a lot of my time looking down.

To put this in real term the.  Through all the stuff that I’ve been experiencing,  despite laying it down daily before God I haven’t seen much hope beyond the now.  Anyway that I’ve looked at things have brought me to an uncomfortable conclusion .  I know now it’s still going to be uncomfortable but there is a sense of hope, of God stripping away the rubbish and shaping something really special (I don’t mean just me).  As I thought about looking up I was drawn to this piece of Scripture

As for me, I look to the Lord for help.  I wait confidently for God to save me,  and my God will certainly hear meMicah 7:7

It re:xplores the theme of ‘waiting’ that I’ve been reading about it in Psalm 62

5 Let all that I am wait quietly before God,

for my hope is in him. Psalm 62:5

Waiting quietly and waiting confidently.  It’s waiting when I already know the answer, yet in full knowledge of what God has said and continues to say, I wait.  I find something deeply profound in the waiting, a sort of holding place.   I think it also comes into some of the stuff that I was exploring in my last post, about walking into the new thing, or the thing that I’d put on the backburner.  I’m waiting with full confidence in the everyday and for the future things.

1 I look up to the mountains—

does my help come from there?

2 My help comes from the Lord ,

who made heaven and earth! Psalm 121:1-2

God longer lives on the mountain, the one who holds the heavens and the earth in his hands, his help is here it is now.

I’m looking up, learning to wait, there is freedom here.

Join me?

Leave a comment