Light…

I found these words today….

Working in darkness, I build up the light over time, applying it precisely, revealing detail, dimension, and texture beyond the human eye’s scope. I am intrigued by the way in which my subjects take on a fuller existence, brought on by the coalescence of light.”

They are actually the words of a photographer talking about the process of intoducing light to his subjects.  But it struck me how much of God is in this. We read in Genesis that there was nothing, a darkness and out of that nothing, something came, beautiful, creative and wonderful.

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was without form and void, and darkness was over the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.  And God said, Let there be light, and there was light.Genesis 1:1-3

It also made me think about the truth that we (the world) is in darkness but Jesus is that work of Light revealing detail, dimension and texture beyond the human eye’s scope.  There is a work of Light that we don’t always percieve with our human eye, but God is applying it precisely in the way and place that it needs to be.

I think God is more than intrigued as we take on a fuller existence because of the Light. (Jesus).   I think he is overjoyed as we live a fuller life because of his Son.  The word coalescence is a really interesting one as well, because it means a coming together, or mass in this case the mass of light.  In our case Jesus!

The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; those who dwelt in a land of deep darkness, on them has light shined.”  Isaiah 9:2

(Apologies if it all sounds a bit woolly and fluffy but I’ve been trying to have my eyes open to God all over the place, and these words in and out of the context really interested me)

Leave a comment