Granddad 1921-2011

It’s been a while since I posted here, partly because 2011 started with me away from any social network site’s or blogging platforms, website builders etc.  I’ll post more on that experience later but first…

This Tuesday we said goodbye to my Grandad, he was taken into hospital the day after boxing day and never came out.  He died three weeks ago and he will be missed.  I’ve posted the picture of both my Grandma and Grandad because she died last August and with the passing of my Grandad a whole generation has gone from our immediate and extended family.  It’s all really sad but at the same time I’m so encouraged and full of hope for the rest of us left behind.  I’ve posted some of what I said at the funeral below.

“We all have our memories and experiences, and we could definitely say that Granddad had a great innings.

The apostle Paul in the bible talks about life/death in the this way like it is a race.  We run with a goal in mind, a prize and an ending.  It is Granddad’s ending far above all the other fond memories that has left a lasting impact.

In his last weeks I had the opportunity to pray with Granddad, something that probably hasn’t  happened since I was very young, it was such a privilege. In his last week there was a moment when Granddad called those of us that were there round his bed while Martin led us in prayer, it was so emotional, but so uplifting to see Granddad demonstrating and working out the faith that was so important to him.  He prayed the Lords Prayer with Dad and Christine, something that they had learnt as a family and again Granddad was leading his family in the faith that he had professed all these years.  As we watched Granddad getting weaker, when even sitting up exhausted him he surprised us all when he woke with a bit of a start wanting to read his bible reading notes for that day, we couldn’t find it so we borrowed a bible and there was Granddad sitting up in bed pouring over the scriptures, those that we’ve heard read today.

Granddads body was weak but he didn’t fade, what I saw in those last days was like watching an athlete coming to the end of the race, not slowing down but with every last bit of strength in him to cross the finishing line to win that prize.

As so the best of us gone, and despite the height/depth of emotion the feeling of injustice, of anger and him dying, Granddads race speaks to us.  It challenges me and spurs me on, because if he finished the race so strongly how much more can I keep running my race.  I am so proud to have known Granddad and when people ask me how I’m doing, I’m sad of course but I love telling people his story…

I imagine Granddad saying these words from the apostle Paul, and hope that they are also mine when I finish my race

‘I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, and I have remained faithful, and now the prize await’s me'”

My Granddad continues to inspire me, he will be missed but he like thousands before him speaks into our today, by their lives and their deaths they urge us to take on the baton and pass it on.

Leave a comment